Participants in the December 1967 SADS conference in Moscow.* (with their positions at the time)

United States

Paul M. Doty (chairman) (June 1, 1920 – December 5, 2011) – Professor of Chemistry, Harvard University; former member, President's Science Advisory Committee

Jerome B. Wiesner ((May 30, 1915 – October 21, 1994) – Professor of Electrical Engineering; Provost at MIT (former special assistant to President John F. Kennedy for science and technology; chairman of the President's Science Advisory Committee)

Franklin A. Long (July 27, 1910 – February 8, 1999) – Professor of Chemistry; Cornell University; member of President's Science Advisory Committee

Jack P. Ruina (August 19, 1923 – February 4, 2015) – Professor of Electrical Engineering and Vice President for Special Laboratories, MIT (former Director, Institute for Defense Analyses)

George W. Rathjens (June 28, 1925 – May 27, 2016) – Director, Systems Evaluation Division, Institute for Defense Analyses

Henry A. Kissinger (May 27, 1923-) – Professor of Government, Harvard University; White House Consultant

Benjamin H. Brown (1915 – June 27, 2001) – Director, Fellows Program, Center on International Affairs (Harvard University); Secretary, Soviet-American Disarmament Studies/Committee on International Studies on Arms Control

USSR

Mikhail D. Millionshchikov (chairman) (January 3, 1913 – May 27, 1973) – Mechanical engineer; (former?) Deputy Director, Kurchatov Institute; Vice Chair of the USSR Academy of Sciences; Chairman of the Soviet Pugwash Committee

Lev Andreyevich Artsimovich (February 25, 1909 – March 1, 1973) – Physicist; Academician – secretary of the Department of General Physics and Astronomy, USSR Academy of Sciences, member of the Presidium of the USSR

Pyotr Leonidovich Kapitsa (July 8, 1894 – April 8, 1984) – Physicist and Military Engineer; director, Institute of Physical Problems/ Co-creator of the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology

Aleksandr P. Vinogradov (August 21, 1895 – November 16, 1975) – Geochemist; Director of Vernadsky Institute of Geochemistry and Analytical Chemistry, USSR Academy of Sciences

Anatoly A. Blagonravov (June 1, 1894 – February 4, 1975) – Aerospace Engineer; Director of the Institute of Machine Studies, USSR Academy of Sciences

Vasilii S. Emelianov (b. January 30, 1901 – N.A) – Metallurgist, Chairman of the State Committee on the Use of Atomic Energy

Vladimir Mikhailovich Khvostov (June 11, 1905 – March 9, 1972) – Historian and former adviser to Foreign Ministry; President of the USSR Academy of Pedagogical Sciences

Aleksandr N. Shchukin (July 9, 1900 – June 11, 1990) – Specialist in radiophysics and radio engineering; lieutenant general of the engineering and technical services; deputy chief, Military-Industrial Commission.

Georgi A. Arbatov (May 19, 1923 – October 1, 2010) – Political Scientist; Director of the USA Institute, USSR Academy of Sciences

Mikhail M. Dubinin (January 1, 1901 – July 13, 1993) – Chemist; Director of Laboratory of Sorption Processes, *Institute of Physical Chemistry, USSR*. Academy of Sciences

Observers

Anatoly Alekseevich Gryzlov – (September 27, 1904 –August 20, 1974) – Colonel General (Army); General Staff/Defense Ministry Liaison to the Foreign Ministry, responsible for arms control and disarmament matters.

Mikhail Voslensky (December 6, 1920 – February 8, 1997) – Historian; Academic Secretary of the Commission on the Scientific Problems of Disarmament /Researcher, USSR Academy of Sciences

Igor Glagolev – Expert on Disarmament Issues at the Institute of World Economy and International Relations, USSR Academy of Sciences

Stanislav M. Menshchikov (May 12, 1927 – November 13, 2014) – Economist; Professor and Researcher at the Institute of World Economy and International Relations, USSR Academy of Sciences

Sergei Sokolov (July 1, 1911 – August 31, 2012) – General (Army); First Deputy Defense Minister

Stepan G. T. Korneev – USSR Academy of Sciences; KGB colonel

V.M. Karetnikov – Deputy Chairman, Military-Industrial Commission

Soltsev (not identifiable)

Mikhail P. Shelepin – Foreign Ministry staff

^{*} Compiled for National Security Archive EBB #782 from multiple sources by William Burr and Jacqueline Schluger.